This will be a short post, mostly because I’m tired and I’m the boss.

Cthulhu Realms is a re-themed version of the highly successful deck builder Star Realms, both by White Wizard Games. If you’re not familiar with the game, check out the app on iTunes or in Google Play, or watch Tom Vasel (with his daughter) from the Dice Tower [here].

I held out on Cthulhu Realms for a while, because while we LOVE Star Realms, and I’m a HUGE Lovecraft fan, Cortnie is not. She doesn’t like how gross Lovecraft images typically are, and if what I heard about the iconography is true, we’d probably play Star Realms even if we had both. Then it came up on sale, and I figured worst case scenario, I bring it to work and and play it at lunch. Tonight, after Cortnie got home from girls night out, we sleeved and played the game.

The card art immediately jumped out at me when I opened the box. It was BEAUTIFUL. It’s cartoon humor is fantastic, even my wife said it was “not bad”. I know this doesn’t sound like a ringing endorsement, but it’s the nicest thing she’s ever said about a Cthulhu Game. We played Cthulhu Flux one time and, due to the art, it will never see my table again.

IMG_1983

The player who was most recently insane is supposed to go first. I argued that my recent play of Eldritch Horror from Fantasy Flight Games, when I went insane should count, but she won the argument after describing her day caring for our three kids, her sisters two kids, and helping her Mom out. There was a little back and forth, but I cornered the market on cards that allowed you to cull your deck, and I took a mid game lead that couldn’t be stopped.

The iconography was a little rough, with no text on the cards other than the title, and a few symbols that were very close similar to each other, I don’t think it would have been an easy game without a background of Star Realms.

Overall, I think the game played just as well as Star Realms, and I enjoyed it even more because of the theme, but I would have a hard time recommending it over Star Realms because of the iconography. I’ll follow this up after I get a chance to play this with my work pals.

One thought on “Day 14 – Cthulhu Realms

Leave a Reply

