Terror in Meeple City

Early in my exploration of this hobby I played a game of Rampage (later reprinted as Terror in Meeple City). Terror in Meeple City is a game by Antoine Bauza and Ludovic Maublanc from Repos Production for 1 – 4 players. Each player controls a giant lizard monster trying to destroy buildings, eat people, and fight each other. It’s a dexterity game that creates a city-scape of buildings by stacking punch-board squares and rectangles on groups of meeples. The monsters then move, jump on buildings, throw cars, and blow to cause as much damage as possible in a given turn. To complete this actions you flick disks are the board to move, drop your monster on the buildings to jump, flick cars off your monsters head to throw the car, and, with your chin on your monster, you get one blow to knock things down.

You Score points for the meeples and building you eat, and for damaging other monsters. Each monster also get a special scoring card, that gives extra points for things like eating buildings or getting specific colors of meeples. Each monster also gets a special power that can be used once per game. All the meeples and buildings you eat are hidden behind a player screen so you can’t really know who’s winning until the end.

I first played this game about four years ago with my regular gaming group. We all took it pretty lightly and just had more fun knocking down the buildings and each other (mostly each other). The game got put away and has not seen our groups table since then.

Now I have kids that are age six, four, and two. I ordered my own copy of the game for family time. We don’t use the player screens, we don’t use the secret power cards or the score cards. Actually, we don’t total scores up at the end at all. We just destroy the city. The actual destruction of the city is usually accidental when we either miss, or knock another monster into a building. That’s all anyone seemed to care about – beating each other up. Sometimes my daughter, who is four can’t reach the middle of the board to make her move, so I hold her over the table in a near superman pose so she can be shoot the car off her head at the appropriate angle. It’s great fun.

The only downside that I can mention to this family game is it does require assembly before the first set-up. Each building space requires you peel of the back of a tile to reveal adhesive to permanently attach to the board.IMG_1887

Now I’m not the most delicate with things, but I’m as careful as I can be, and twice I started pulling the first layer of cardboard off, instead of the paper back. I also remember my friends copy years ago the foundations were pealing up, not being as permanent as intended. I think this will be a manageable fix, even adding you own adhesive if it comes to that. You also have to attach stickers al the wooden components such as the monsters, disks, vehicles, and meeples. This took me about an hour to do. Even with some assembly required, I still think it’s a game worth playing.

I’m sure that we’ll start scoring eventually, and using the power cards. Playing the way Antoine and Ludovic intended is certainly my goal. For now, playfully destroying a city is deep enough for me and my family.

Leave a Reply

